Governing Body

The government expects governing bodies to have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of staff
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.
    (Governance Handbook – Department for Education, 2017)

The governing body focuses its time and energy on school improvement. Governors work collectively to support and strengthen the leadership of the Executive Headteacher and challenge where necessary. Governors play a strategic role; the Headteacher is responsible for the routine running of the school.

Our governing board membership is as follows (please click on the governor names for a pen portrait):

Co-opted Governor/Chair of Governors Mrs Michelle Beyram
Co-opted Governor Mr Mark Parr
Co-opted Governor Miss Janice D’Costa
Parent Associate Governor Mr Robert Prosper
Community Governor Ms Nnenna Mai Amaike
Staff Governor (Executive Headteacher) Mr Steven Connors
Staff Governor Mr Thomas Fletcher